Join me in my quest to develop technology skills in music

This semester I am embarking on a quest to improve my technology skills in the music classroom. Though I feel that my technology skills as a whole are strong, I realize that most of my skills are related to what I can do with technology and not necessarily what my students can do with technology. To improve in this area, I enrolled in an online technology course for educators because I want to find ways for my students to engage in authentic and relevant musical experiences using technology. I also want my students to have 21st century skills that they can use to be competitive in a global economy.

To guide my technology growth, I assessed my current technology skills, identified goals and objectives for areas that I want to develop, and outlined a plan to achieve those goals. I identified my focus areas by asking myself what technology tools musicians use regularly and what tools are readily available for students to engage in authentic musical experiences. I believe that because smartphones are becoming ubiquitous, they have untapped potential for use in the music class. I also believe that tools musicians use for composing, notating, and recording music can be accessed easily online or through a mobile device.

You can view my detailed analysis, plan, and checklist as a Google Doc. Please return often to cheer me on, follow my progress, and offer tips and suggestions to assist me in my quest.

Posted in Music Technology
One comment on “Join me in my quest to develop technology skills in music
  1. Savilla Banister says:

    You have outlined a rigourous plan for learning new skills and resources. Good luck as you move forward!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*

Why Music?

Jack Stamp on Music

Site Traffic

Archives

Subscribe By Email

Get a weekly email of all new posts.

This form is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.